Wide Sargasso Sea - Literature at Lunch 18

In the wake of Jamaican emancipation, French colonist Annette Cosway (Rachel Ward) falls into poverty and marries racist Englishman Paul Mason (Michael York). But when Annette's young son dies in a fire started by former slaves, Mason flees to England, leaving his grief-stricken wife and her Creole daughter Antoinette (Karina Lombard) behind. Soon Antoinette learns she must marry to claim her inheritance and sets her sights on Rochester (Nathaniel Parker), an Englishman eerily similar to Mason.

1 hour 38 mins

In the wake of Jamaican emancipation, French colonist Annette Cosway (Rachel Ward) falls into poverty and marries racist Englishman Paul Mason (Michael York). But when Annette's young son dies in a fire started by former slaves, Mason flees to England, leaving his grief-stricken wife and her Creole daughter Antoinette (Karina Lombard) behind. Soon Antoinette learns she must marry to claim her inheritance and sets her sights on Rochester (Nathaniel Parker), an Englishman eerily similar to Mason.

Book Tickets

1 hour 38 mins

Tickets

Film £5.50 (£5) | Talk £6.50 (£6)

More in Cinema...

  • The Lost City of Z

    Thurs 18 May - Fri 19 May

    Dir: James Gray USA 2016 2hrs 21mins With: Charlie Hunnam, Robert Pattinson British explorer Percival Fawcet...

  • King Arthur: Legend of the Sword

    Mon 10 Jul - Tues 11 Jul

    Dir: Guy Ritchie UK/AUST/USA 2017 2hrs 6mins With: Charlie Hunnam, Hermione Cor...

  • Beauty and the Beast

    Sat 29 Apr & Mon 1 May

    Dir: Bill Condon USA 2017 With: Emma Watson, Ewan McGregor.  This live-action re-make of Disney’s fabled 1991...

  • The Time of Their Lives

    Mon 29 May - Wed 31 May

    Dir: Roger Goldby UK 2017 1hr 44mins With: Joan Collins, Pauline Collins, Franco Nero Helen is a former Holl...

  • Jackie

    Fri 12 May

    Dir: Pablo Larraín US/Chile/Fr 2016 With: Natalie Portman, Peter Sarsgaard This award-winning portrait of Jac...

  • The Salesman

    Fri 12 May & Mon 15 May

    Dir: Asghar Farhadi Iran 2016 2hr 5mins Subtitled With: Taraneh Alidoosti, Shahab Hosseini Capturing the Bes...

  • Another Mother's Son

    Sat 27 May - Sun 28 May

    Dir: Christopher Menaul UK 2017 1hr 43mins With: Jenny Seagrove, John Hannah Set on the island of Jersey dur...

  • The Handmaiden

    Tues 30 May & Thurs 1 Jun

    Dir: Chan-wook Park South Korea 2016 2hrs 36mins With: Min-hee Kim, Jung-woo Ha Exquisitely adapted from Sar...

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue