The Merchant of Venice

The Merchant of Venice

Venice, 1596 and Antonio, an honourable merchant, enters into a chilling contract to enable his dearest friend to woo a beautiful heiress, whose fate lies waiting within caskets of gold, silver and lead. At the heart of the story stands Shylock, the Jewish moneylender, one of Shakespeare’s greatest and most complex characters. This remarkable play, with its explorations of prejudice, love, justice, and the power of money, deeply resonates to us in these present turbulent times, but it also stands alone, as a truly gripping story.

CONCESSIONS (Mon-Fri):
£1 off each ticket for senior citizens, reg. disabled, under 16’s and students.

SCHOOL PARTIES (Mon-Fri):
£8 per ticket for parties of 20 or more. Tickets can be reserved as for group bookings.

SEASON TICKET (Mon-Sat):
Book for all three plays at the same time, and get £2 off each ticket.

GROUP BOOKINGS (Mon-Sat):
£1 off all seats for 20 or more purchased. Early group reservations
can be held for your convenience whilst you are arranging your visit,
but must be confirmed and paid for by 1st May 2018.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS: No refunds. £1 fee, per ticket, for exchanges. (See Stamford Arts Centre website for details). Tickets may be purchased on the day (subject to availability) from the box office at Tolethorpe Hall, which opens one hour before performance.

Monday - Thursday: £14
Friday: £16
Saturday: £19
Saturday Matinée: Adult £19 / Child £12
Preview nights: £11

More in Stamford Shakespeare...

  • Friends of Stamford Shakespeare Com...

    Tues 11 Jun - Sat 31 Aug 2019

  • Julius Caesar

    Tues 18 Jun - Sat 22 Jun , Tues 2 - Sat 6 Jul , Mon 5 - Sat 10 , Mon 19 - Sat 24 Aug 2019

    Stamford Shakespeare Company presents  William Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar   Shakespeare's epic tragedy, wh...

  • Twelfth Night

    Tues 11 Jun - Sat 15 Jun , Tues 25 - Sat 29 Jun , Mon 15 - Sat 20 Jul , Mon 29 - Sat 3 Aug 2019

    Stamford Shakespeare Company presents  William Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night   Set in Albania in the early 19...

  • Blithe Spirit

    Tues 9 Jul - Sat 13 Jul , Tues 23 - Sat 27 Jul , Mon 12 - Sat 17 , Mon 26 - Sat 31 Aug 2019

    Stamford Shakespeare Company presents Noel Coward’s Blithe Spirit                                      Noel...

  • Stamford Shakespeare Company 2019

    Tues 11 Jun - Sat 31 Aug 2019

    Stamford Shakespeare Company 2019 presents:   Noel Coward’s Blithe Spirit Wil...

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue